Coronavirus (COVID-19) Health Alert

If you are concerned about Coronavirus go to the Australian Government Department of Health website for the latest medical advice and official reports by clicking here

Dismiss alert

Australia Day Awards

Recipients of the Australia Day Awards:

Kym, Christine & Heather Bertram – Joint Citizen of the Year

Joint Citizens

Heather, Kym & Christine Bertram

Kym, Christine and Heather Bertram of Orroroo have been jointly awarded the District Council of Orroroo Carrieton Citizen of the Year for 2020 for their service to the community.

Together, Kym, Christine and Heather have operated the Orroroo Caravan Park since 2003. From that time they have developed the Park and encouraged tourism to Orroroo and the greater community. They support community events through offering free accommodation to visiting contractors when they finish late at night.

Kym has dedicated many years to the Orroroo Football Club as Secretary of the Club from 2007 to 2015 and Bar Manager from 1985 to 2017. Whilst in the role of Secretary, Kym also served with the Northern Area Football Association as a Board member. He has been recognised for his commitment to the Club with a Meritorious Award in 1993 (jointly with wife Christine) and Life Membership in 2013.

Kym has also been a member of the Black Rock Dirt Circuit Club and has won a State Title representing the Club. Kym was also a member of the Orroroo Area School Governing Council when his children attended the school.

Christine has also dedicated many years to the Orroroo Football Club and is still the Ladies representative with the Club’s Executive Committee and kitchen representative for the Football and Netball Clubs.

Christine is a founding member of the Orroroo Carols in the Main Committee, assisting with the organisation of the event each year which is a large community event in Orroroo each December and has just celebrated its 14th year.

Christine is also the Booleroo Centre Pekina Parish Pastoral Council Secretary and has volunteered many hours to many organisations and functions assisting in catering and helping where she can.

Heather has been an excellent advocate of tourism within the district, encouraging visitors to stay longer and make a return trip. Her enthusiasm and passion to building tourism in the district is to be commended.

Orroroo Health Service Centenary Celebration – Community Event of the Year

Orroroo Health Service

Fiona Dignan, Rose Catford, Rob Gibb, Steve Richmond
and Joan Luckraft

Orroroo Health Service celebrated their Centenary on 5th April 2019. It was a very successful day, despite the wind and dust and well attended by past and present employees and doctors and community members. People from across Australia returned to Orroroo to reminisce about their time in Orroroo and connection to the hospital and health service.

Approximately 100 people had a ‘Walkthrough of the Hospital’ observing the many changes and renovations over the years. This was followed by a light lunch at the Golf Club for past and present staff members, Board members and invited guests, catered by the Orroroo Hospital Ladies Auxiliary.

An Official Celebration was held at the Orroroo Town Hall which included the unveiling of a painting of the original Hospital by Ross (Bud) Stephenson from Black Rock.

200 people attended and enjoyed afternoon tea and a comprehensive display of photos and memorabilia over the last 100 years in the Town Hall.

Past Recipients
Trevor Laskey (2018 Citizen of the Year)
Corey Finlay (2018 Young Citizen of the Year)
Carols in the Main (2018 Community Event of the Year)
Lynette Bollinger (2017 Citizen of the Year)
Isaac Jesser (2017 Young Citizen of the Year)
2016 Bike SA Annual Tour: Orroroo Area School(2017 Community Event of the Year)
Julianne O'Dea (2016 Citizen of the Year)
Anzac Day 2015 (2016 Event of the Year)
Kate Williams (2015 Citizen of the Year)
Orroroo Half Marathon 2014 (2015 Event of the Year)
Ian and Susan Ellery (2014 Combined Citizen of the Year )
Orroroo SA Masters Games (2014 Community Event of the Year)
Denise Ogilvy (2013 Citizen of the Year)
Orroroo and Districts Lions Club (2013 Community Event of the Year)
Carrieton Progress Association (2012 Community Event of the Year)
Terry Williams (2011 Citizen of the Year)
Orroroo Quilting Group (2011 Event of the Year)
Trevor Hoare (2010 Citizen of the Year)
Carrieton Rodeo (2010 Community Event of the Year )
Susan Foulis (2009 Citizen of the Year)
Adele Tapscott (2009 Young Citizen)
Aileen Tapscott (2007 Citizen of the Year)
Stacey Ackland (2007 Young Citizen)
Tom Case (2006 Citizen of the Year)
Ian Dyer (2005 Citizen of the Year)
John-James Nicholas (2005 Young Citizen)
Beth Catford (2004 Citizen of the Year)
No Awards were presented in 2003
Roger Mortimer (2002 Citizen of the Year)
Glenda McCallum (2001 Citizen of the Year)
Desmond Fromm (2000 Citizen of the Year)
Samuel Gibb (2000 Young Citizen)
Robert Wilson (1999 Citizen of the Year)
John Schmidt (1998 Citizen of the Year)
John Cozens (1997 Citizen of the Year)
Geoff and Joan Gibb (1996 Citizen of the Year)
Fran Teague (1995 Citizen of the Year)
Joan Ellery (1994 Citizen of the Year)
Betty Cox (1993 Citizen of the Year)
Gerald Kuerschner (1992 Citizen of the Year)
Fay Jansen (1991 Citizen of the Year)
Shane Ogilvy (1991 Young Citizen)
Kevin Ford (1990 Citizen of the Year)
Edna Probert (1989 Citizen of the Year)
Murray Gibb (1988 Citizen of the Year)
Ray McCallum (1987 Citizen of the Year)